Learning how to turn up to training

The subtle art of coming to terms of not just turning up on the day and bluffing my way through it.

It’s coming to the end of my year of adventure as the Banzai Adventurer and I’ve learned a lot about multisport and adventure racing. I’ve learned a lot about myself too, what is important to me, how I manage my time and what my mind and body is capable of if I give my self a chance.

I’ve said all along that I am a middle of the pack hack and this is still true. I am most comfortable back in the pack with the other weekend adventurers of all shapes and sizes and ability levels. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t give myself much opportunity to slack off, I mean if there is someone just in front of me I will try my best to run them down, but what has become very clear to me is that the journey of the event itself, and my ability to cover the terrain, overcome obstacles and complete the distance in the best time I can is what is important to me. Rather than the competition itself.

Team TNP at the King and Queen on Invy

Team TNP at the King and Queen of Invy

While that might sound all soft and hippy – don’t get me wrong. I have been prepared to work hard. For the Surf Coast Century last year, I dedicated every weekend and many early mornings and evenings to training for 8 months to give myself the best chance of achieving the goal I set myself. I’ve also been prepared to learn and develop. I searched around and found a coach that provides me opportunity to train in a group (something that works for me) and encouragement (Gentle and otherwise) to improve and importantly a simple but extremely effective outlook on training and performance – if your expectations for the event match your preparations then you’ll do fine.

And for me those two key themes to my training can be summed up in two words – Motivation and Opportunity. I have truck loads of both.

So how has this translated into my preparations for Marysville 2 Melbourne. Well, I can tell you (just quietly) that I am feeling a little under cooked. 2 weeks out of Surf Coast Century I was nervous but I had taken every opportunity to prepare and was stronger physically and mentally than I am now. So what have I done differently?

I have maintained my motivation well, I have again surrounded myself with inspirational people to keep my excitement levels high and to draw energy from those around me This is actually a critical philosophy for me in all endurance activities as the company of strangers in a long event can make all the difference. The times that I have taken the energy from others for granted I have crashed hard and ended up having to dig myself out of a slump. For M2M this year I have taken counsel from Steve Brydon and set new and challenging goals along the way and importantly beyond M2M. I’ve kept racing with Scott Harkin and done the Kathmandu Adventure Race and Otway Odyssey this year. My team mates from Tuesday Night Parmas – Australia’s Least Known Adventure Racing Team are back again this year and we have all been in constant contact building the excitement of the event. I’ve struggled a little with Work-Life balance but have decided to carry the torch for a Charity that is important to me personally but also one that aligns closely with the industry I am working in, so that gives me a little extra motivation, and support from my work environment. So mentally and emotionally I have done well to get me to the start with all the motivation I need to finish.

Running literally along the Surf Coast

Running literally along the Surf Coast

In terms of physical preparation, each of my Tuesday Night Parmas team mates and I have approached this years M2M with a lot more determination than we have the previous years. The first time we competed it was all about the journey. Last year we had Kate join us and, although we each were fitter than the previous year, again it was all about the journey. This year, it is still about the journey but we have all done something quite different. We have trained. We’ve looked for improvement in each of the disciplines by seeking out coaching at Vigor Fitness and Peak Adventure. We have all paddled more in the past 6 months than ever before, we’ve all done a lot more riding than we normally do and while I have been a little slack in the running department, we’ve all been pushing a lot harder than the previous years on the legs. We’ve even sought out opportunities to train and compete together as part of our preparation. So physically I am also ready to race. My goal, as always, finish and finish in the most efficient manner possible, cover the course and obstacles I will encounter in the fastest time I can and adhere to Liam’s sage advice to make sure that my expectations on race day match my preparations.

So a normal week training for me is hard to describe because I travel a lot but it looks something like this:

Monday: Ride 40 km

Tuesday: Paddle 10km (Every third week or so with Vigor ) Run 8 km Moderate intervals with Vigor or 1 hr slow Ride 40 km

Wednesday: Ride 40 km or run 1 hr slow

Thursday: Ride 70 km with Os or Run 1 hr slow

Friday: Paddle 10 km with Vigor  and or Ride 40 km 

Saturday: Hilly Ride or Run with Meaghan or event (Such as King and Queen of Inverloch by Vigor Fitness)

Sunday: Long Ride or event (Such as XAdventure Dunsborough or Anaconda Augusta by Rapid Ascent)

So, actually not a lot of training for such a long and grueling event. I have a good aerobic base and I am pretty good at pacing myself normally so all things going well, I will finish strongly.

Keep an eye out for these around the traps, those that are wearing them are supporting wounded servicemen and women.

Keep an eye out for these wrist bands around the traps, those that are wearing them are supporting wounded servicemen and women.

On the day I will be wearing a small band that reminds me of a pretty important part of my life and an attitude that I live my life by – taking care of each other. If you’d like to know more or want to show your support then follow the link to donate below.

Please help me raise money for Injured Servicemen by donating to Soldier On.

This entry was posted in Charity Challenges, Events, Marysville to Melbourne, Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Learning how to turn up to training

  1. Jenetix says:

    Another great entry. But… What will I read when your year as Banzai Adventurer ends?!?

  2. I get exhausted just reading your blog! Keep up the great work – the golden ticket seems to me like a two edged sword. Prizes don’t usually ask so much of their recipients, but it’s inspiring to read how you’ve made so much of the opportunities.

Leave a Reply

