The quiet whisper of an Ultra – calling my name

Well with only a matter of weeks left, the only thing that separates me from my first Ultra is the Mainpeak Multisport in Perth. It is creeping very much closer.

My training is on track, I’ve been getting out for long runs with Up There Bazzaley, (Meaghan and Annie) and have become a whole lot stronger mentally. I’ve been doing a strength and Stretching class with the folk at Vigor Health and Fitness and I feel like my body is in good enough condition. I’ve also done all of the Salomon Trail Runs so far, so I’ve done a bit of work on my speed off road as well. So everything appears to be on track. Time will tell though.

Race 3 at Plenty was fantastic! I met up with fellow bloggers Patricia and Scott, both of whom appear to have an infinite amount of energy to encourage and inspire the rest of us.

This weekend I’m off on the longest run of the training program. A 10 hour epic down on the course again. It’s amazing to me that we are now comfortable planning a 10 hour run. A lot of planning goes into it too. Over the course of 10 hours I’ll eat and drink a lot of food and water (Or pay the penalty), I’ll run, jog, walk, rest, laugh, jibber jabber about nothing in particular for ages and maybe even have a little cry. It will hurt, a lot.

I doubt we are going to have weather as good as this run a couple of months ago though.

Next weekend though I am off to Perth to race as part of a 3 person team (One of whom is going to be absent on the day) in the Mainpeak Multisport race. Similar format to the Marysville to Melbourne, Ben, Absent Tanis and I will run, ride and paddle from Toodyay to Perth. It’s going to be great! As I am so close to the Surf Coast Century I am taking it easy and will only be doing the ride sections. Poor Ben has to do Tanis and his legs… Ah well… he’ll be ok.

Stay tuned for a race preview later next week and some updates as we compete for the first time together. I know Ryan, Kate and Meaghan are watching closely, since they abandoned me at Anaconda Noosa they are well aware that their privileged positions as founding members of Tuesday Night Parmas are under direct threat.  I tell you what, if Ben is funnier than Os and faster than Kate, they will be in real trouble.

He has already started bidding for Meaghan’s position. We had a Team TBA Conference (Skype date) the other night and his opening comment was

“Mate, I’ve booked us a hotel room!!!… (Long… awkward… pause)….It’s got two beds”.

He definitely sounded disappointed telling me about the two beds.

This entry was posted in Mainpeak Multi, Salomon Trail Running Series, Surfcoast Century, Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The quiet whisper of an Ultra – calling my name

  1. Annie says:

    Definitely 2 beds in Anglesea and im not the slightest bit disappointed to be telling you that!! Aldi Lasagne here we come!

  2. AndrewGills says:

    Wow! 10hour runs. That’s awesome dude.

  3. Luke says:

    Um… 10 hour training runs?!?! That’s crazy to me. An ultra is on my radar too… Someday. It looks like your training has been going well, and you’re ready. I can’t wait to read about it. Best of luck!

    • It’s been really fun getting “ready” for the Surf Coast Century. A massive run this weekend that put everything into perspective. It’s going to hurt but I think I’m going to be ready. Well then again, with only 3 weeks left, I’ll be as ready as I can be, there’s no time left to be more ready.

  4. Dallan says:

    That single track in the first video you posted looks a lot of fun! I love singel track!!!!

  5. Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects?
    Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

