How to turn Legs into Lead – a run with the Sensational Barry Sisters

This weekend just gone, for my long run, Annie took us out for a long run – which she described as ‘a bit of a challenge’. With only a week to go until the start of the Salomon Trail Running Series, and just over 3 months before the Surfcoast Century, I am ramping up the hours on the trails. So I thought, fine, I’m in!

Hey Annie – here’s my word of the day:

un·der·state·ment

n.

1. A disclosure or statement that is less than complete.
2. Restraint or lack of emphasis in expression, as for rhetorical effect.
3. Restraint in artistic expression.

Far out! That was the hardest run I have done in years!

I felt strong through most of the run but boy I was absolutely toast by the end of it. I could barely muster a light jog at the top. The run started at the top of the Dandenong Range at Skyline Restaurant and meandered down to the foothills before climbing half way back up, then down, then up, then down, then up, then down and so on for 3 1/2 hours.

For the past few days I have been getting a little less fatigued and sore from what was by far the toughest workout I have had in a very long time. I loaded my Garmin data up to Strava and now it makes sense. The reason I was so convincingly smashed was that in a little of 23 Km of running, for about 3 1/2 hours, we gained over a Km in elevation.

What a fantastic session!

I recently joined a running group and was surprised at how much harder I was prepared to push myself in a group than when I am out alone. The same is obviously true when I am out with Meaghan and Annie.

Thanks Annie, I know that in our training plan for the Surfcoast Century there are a couple of runs that I get to plan.

I am considering my options…

This entry was posted in Salomon Trail Running Series, Surfcoast Century, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

